MMU strongly reacts to ban on sacrifice of bovine in IIOJK

Srinagar, July 16 (KMS): In Indian illegally occupied Jammu and Kashmir, all the constituent members of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Ulema (MMU) Jammu and Kashmir, headed by incarcerated Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, expressed strong resentment against the ban imposed by the authorities on sacrifice of bovine on the occasion of Eid-ul-Adha.

The MMU in a statement in Srinagar said that the amalgam was surprised that sacrifice of bovine animals on the religious occasion of Eid is being termed illegal and disallowed under the garb of prevention of cruelty to animals Act.

The MMU – an umbrella body of all religious bodies of IIOJK – said that the sacrifice of permitted animals including bovines, on Eid-ul-Adha in the way of Almighty Allah, is precisely the reason for its celebration. Hence it is an important tenet of religion on this day, and a duty upon persons on whom it is obligatory, it said.

“A Muslim indeed has to refrain from any kind of negligence in performing this act of worship. So why are Muslims being restricted by the government in performing their religious obligation?” the MMU asked.

It said the authorities should desist from issuing such arbitrary orders that are unacceptable to the Muslims of the territory as they directly infringe upon their religious freedom and their personal law, causing them great anguish.

The MMU said urged the authorities to immediately revoke this arbitrary and discriminatory order and let the people of IIOJK celebrate Eid in keeping with its religious obligations and the spirit of the festival. The statement added that the MMU will convene an urgent meeting of its key constituents and leading Muftis of IIOJK, in this regard, on Sunday at the residence of Grand Mufti of the territory, Mufti Nasir-ul-Islam and inform people accordingly.

The members of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Ulema include Anjuman-e-Auqaf Jamia Masjid Srinagar, Mufti Azam’s Muslim Personal Law Board, Darul Uloom Raheemiya Bandipora, Anjuman Sharie Shian, Jamiat Ahl-e-Hadeeth, Jamaat-e-Islami, Karwaan-e-Islami, Ittehad-ul-Muslimeen, Anjuman-e-Himayat-ul-Islam, Anjuman-e-Tabligh-ul-Islam, Jamiat Hamdaniya, Anjuman Ulema Ahnaaf, Darul Uloom Qasmia, Darul Uloom Bilalia, Anjuman Nusrat-ul-Islam, Anjuman-e-Mazhar-ul-Haq, Jamiat Aima Wa Ulema, Anjuman-e-Imam-o-Mashaa’ikh Kashmir, Dar-ul-Uloom Naqshbandia, Dar-ul-Uloom Rasheedia, Ahl-e-Bayt Foundation, Madrasa Kanz-ul-Uloom, Karvaan Khatm-e-Nabuwat, and other religious, social and educational associations, said the statement.