Mallikarjun Kharge elected new President of Congress party in India

New Delhi, October 19 (KMS): Mapanna Mallikarjun Kharge has become the new President of the Indian National Congress after winning the Presidential elections with a big margin.

Senior Congress leader Pramod Tiwari announced that Mallikarjun Kharge secured 7,897 votes while his rival candidate Shashi Tharoor grabbed 1000 votes, Indian media reported.

Mallikarjun Kharge, a staunch loyalist of the Gandhi family from Karnataka, has become the Congress’ first non-Gandhi president in 24 years. The 80-year-old leader succeeds Sonia Gandhi at party’s highest office.

%d bloggers like this: