India-appointed delimitation panel’s orders on IIOJK come into effect

New Delhi, May 20 (KMS): The orders of the India-appointed Delimitation Commission which redrew the assembly and parliamentary constituencies in Indian illegally occupied Jammu and Kashmir will “take effect” from today (May 20).

Indian Law Ministery in a notification, today, said, the panel’s two orders — one of March 14 dealing with the number of constituencies reserved for various categories and the second of May 5 dealing with the size of each constituency — will come into effect together from May 20.

In the notification, the Ministry said, “In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-sections (2) and (3) of section 62 of the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019 (34 of 2019), the Central Government hereby appoints the 20th day of May, 2022, as the date on which the orders of the Delimitation Commission, Order No. 1, dated the 14th March, 2022 and Order No. 2, dated the 5th May, 2022,… shall take effect.”

The report of the commission will form the basis for future assembly polls in IIOJK. The delimitation panel had given six additional assembly seats to Hindu-dominated Jammu region and one to Kashmir Valley. Jammu division will now have 43 assembly seats and Kashmir 47 in the 90-member house.

The delimitation exercise was part of Narendra Modi-led fascist Indian government’s nefarious plan of changing the demographic composition of IIOJK and installing a Hindu chief minister after assembly elections in future. KMS—20M

Related Articles

Back to top button