Philippines extends travel curb on India until June 15

Manila, June 01 (KMS): The Philippines has extended travel restrictions on inbound travelers coming from India and six other countries until June 15, 2021.

In a statement, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte approved extending the travel bans imposed on India, and six other countries including Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates.

The government earlier imposed these restrictions to prevent the entry of the COVID-19 variant first detected in India.

As of May 26, health authorities have so far detected 13 cases of the so-called double mutant variant or B.1.617 in the country.

%d bloggers like this: